Posted by: icmadoptionnetwork | October 3, 2012

Empowered to Connect

Well it’s a rainy Wednesday here at the ICM offices, but we are as busy as ever!! I hope that you are all doing well and having a good week. 

I wanted to let you know of a great upcoming opportunity! Most of you are familiar with Dr. Karyn Purvis and her Empowered to Connect resources. Most of you have probably read The Connected Child, or viewed her videos. Well, on April 19-20, 2013, Dr. Purvis will be hosting her Empowered to Connect Conference in the Chicago area. If you have never been to an Empowered to Connect Conference, there is no other word to describe them than life-changing! One of our adoptive mommas-to-be, Jessi, just recently attended the conference and had this to say:

“The Empowered to Connect conference was AMAZING! Even though we had read Dr. Karyn Purvis’ book and many others, we feel so much more equipped to parent our daughter when she comes home. It gave us a very clear picture of what we could encounter in parenting her and the medical reasons behind it (the books did too but something about hearing it and seeing it played out in the video clips just made it stick). Knowing that we aren’t just going to be dealing with emotional scarring but that there is a brain and chemistry change (even if a child is brought home as an infant) that happens to children from hard places, and having it explained, gave us new insight that we hadn’t had before. But, Dr. Purvis didn’t just leave us there. She gave us many tools (a tool box full!) to use to help us promote attachment and parent our daughter the best we possibly can. I would highly recommend the conference to every adoptive parent…no matter where you are on your journey.”

I wish that I could make this mandatory for every adoptive family, but I cannot. What I can do is try and get as many of you together as possible to go Chicago for the conference. My desire is that we can get a large group from ICM to go, and then we can hopefully all stay in the same hotel, and build relationships with one another as well during the conference. We could probably even do some carpooling! I know April is still a long way off, but I know how those calendars fill up, so go ahead over to your calendar right now and write it on there. Go ahead; I’ll wait while you do that. 

Okay.. good job! Now email me and let me know that you would be interested (adopt@icmfamily.org). I’ll get a list going of everyone that would be interested, and as the registration opens up for the conference, I will let you know and we can start planning accordingly. 

Here’s the last little thing I have to say. I know it is so very hard for both parents to go overnight… but I cannot stress strongly enough how great it would be if both parents can attend! Plus you could probably use a weekend away with one another. My husband attended with me once, and he enjoyed it more than I did! He was absolutely astounded by Dr. Purvis’ information and found very intriguing the scientific reasons she gives for behaviors and attachment issues. I completely understand though if you both can’t attend, but I would encourage at least one parent to attend. 

If you have any questions, please let me know! 

Leave a Reply

Categories

