Posted by: icmadoptionnetwork | February 27, 2013

Fully Trusting

Yesterday I had a lengthy phone call with a family that is looking into adoption. They are at the beginning stages (you remember how that was, don’t you?), and looking into both domestic and international adoption and determining what is best for their family. They were such a kind couple, and had some great questions.

Talking to this family reminded me of how scary and anxiety-filled those moments can be when a family is deciding to adopt. Many times, one spouse is ready to begin the adoption journey before the other. I knew I was ready to adopt about a year before my husband was at that point. But if you know this is what God has for your family, then you must only be patient and He will work in your spouse’s heart as well.

Then there are so many options: domestic vs. international; if international, what country; affording adoption; placement agency; home study agency; adoption attorneys; age range and gender of child; and so many more. I would be insensitive if I did not recognize how anxious families can be during this time. Since Steve and I have started the adoption process, I have become even more compassionate for our adoptive families. My husband has told me many times that I am becoming a “crazy mom.”

In those “crazy mom” times, we just have to remember that we serve such a great God, who holds our every step in His hands. The adoption process requires a great deal of trust. Trust in your caseworkers; trust in the foreign officials and process; trust in the orphanage workers; and ultimately trust in our omniscient God!

Psalm 9:10

Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

 

And now… some always needed humor!  This girl is fully commited and trusting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPOgvzVOQig

Responses

  1. Amen! A wonderful post and a reminder of how God’s timing is perfect. Things do not always happen in our time, but His time. Thank you!!!

  2. Yes! I love this. I have needed to look back on the timing of everything as a reminder that God is in control. I need to let go. I read today to “live in the boundaries of my day”, not to worry about tomorrow or the next day or month or year. I have to commit to trusting in God’s timing. I look back on this last year, and I can see God’s perfectly articulated plan leading us this far. 🙂 Thanks for this!

  3. I can’t agree with Tiffany and this post more. HIndsight being 20/20 and all it is such a blessing to look back at the perfect timing of our adoption journey. I’m loving these daily posts as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

