Posted by: icmadoptionnetwork | March 27, 2013

Focus Forward

So I promised all of you that I would be real with you, and be transparent with what my husband and I are going through with our adoption. I know that it is encouraging to hear that you aren’t alone, and that others have gone through what you are going through. So I am going to do that… because I know that some of you have experienced what Steve and I are going through firsthand.

While we were in Taiwan, we had our court date, and it seemed that everything went very well. They asked the typical questions, and we had no concerns. Yesterday we received a call from the head of the orphanage that the courts are requesting an updated home study from us. They want the home study to be current within six months, and ours is just over six months.

To say the least, this is disheartening. Now that we have met our son and held him, I just want to bring him home as quickly as possible. Every step that stands in my way feels like a mountain we must climb.

But then I remember that this little molehill is nothing to our God… because He holds every moment of our lives and every moment of our son’s life in His hands. I Corinthians 15:58 says, “Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.”

We must keep moving forward. We must focus on the joy that is ahead, not the current trials and tasks. There are so many things that I have to keep me busy until my little man comes home, and I just need to focus on those things rather than on the frustrations that accompany the process.

I am so grateful our heavenly Father never gives up on us… that He continually loves and cherishes us. His grace is enough.

Lamentations 3:21-24

“Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

Responses

  1. Bless you for your faith–I don’t know how people go through life without it. Praying for you, Steve, and your sweet baby boy. You will bring him home soon, and in God’s perfect timing.

  2. Thanks for sharing, Maria. Those very verses were such a blessing to me over the weekend as we faced a bump in our journey. Thankful for how God has worked things out in the past couple of days and the lessons He is teaching me on the way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

