Posted by: icmadoptionnetwork | April 12, 2013

Helplessness

Since my husband and I began the adoption process, I have had several people comment about how the process must be easier for me since I work in the adoption field. I am often quick to contradict them. You see, the hardest aspect of the adoption process… waiting… shows no favoritism. No matter how experienced a person is with adoption, the process is difficult. The overwhelming feeling is helplessness.

We live in a society in which I am used to getting whatever information I need right away. I can know the weather in Taiwan in a matter of seconds on my phone. I can find that delicious restaurant recipe in a minute on the internet. I can even pay my bills on my computer. So this feeling of utter helplessness does not sit well with my soul. I like to have my life organized and in control… and as I am sure most of you know, the adoption process is not easily controlled.

Psalm 27:14 states, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” What I love about this Scripture is that it was written by David to himself. He was not speaking to anyone else in this Psalm… only to himself. David, the man after God’s own heart, had to remind himself to wait for the Lord and for His will. But time and time again in David’s life, we see him being blessed in God’s timing. Psalm 27 is a wonderful chapter about calling on God during those difficult times, and I would encourage you this weekend to sit down and read the entire chapter.

God desires to bless each of us, and also our children, in His timing. We do not need to be discouraged in our helplessness, because it is only in our human helplessness that God can be glorified for the amazing things He has done and will do in our lives. Helplessness is a pathway by which we can experience His abundant grace and blessing. Be encouraged this weekend that God has the most perfect timing, and that His blessings will come.

Responses

  1. Amen! Great post and wonderful words to share–thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

