Posted by: icmadoptionnetwork | June 6, 2013

The Real Light

Each morning, before we begin our workday in the offices of Illini Christian Ministries, we gather together for devotions. I can honestly say that I do not believe I could accomplish the work God has called me to do without His continual strength and support. Today’s devotional touched my heart, and I felt led to share it with all of you. I pray it can bless you today.

The Real Light

“It’s in the most unlikely times and places of hurt and chaos that God gives us the real light of His hope.” –Mary Beth Chapman

The sun sank below the horizon. The clouds blotted out the stars and moon. Darkness swept over like a canopy. The darkness made the hiker wary– of animals, of losing the trail, of stepping in holes– but he’d come prepared. In his backpack he’d placed a flashlight. During the day, as the sun lit up the man’s surroundings, the flashlight was unnecessary. More a burden than a help. A useless accessory. It wasn’t until the darkness descended that he turned to it for light.

Like the hiker, we often cannot appreciate the Light of the world until we are faced with dark circumstances. In the blackness we need the light more than anything else. We need the light of hope. We need the light that only God can give.

“The Lord is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid? When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident. One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek Him in His temple. For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock. Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at His tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will make sing and make music to the Lord.”

Psalm 27:1-6

**Taken from the devotional book “Every Day With Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

